Some favourite VG music #20

Outrun 2006: Coast 2 Coast – Magical Sound Shower

Danganronpa – D-BOX (Masafumi Takada)

Deus Ex – UNATCO (Alexander Brendon)

Kurohyou 2: Ryu ga Gotoku Ashura-Hen – Lust 4 Power (Hideki Naganuma)

Final Fight 3 – Smeared Graffiti (Yuki Iwai, Yuko Takehara)

Hotline Miami – Inner Animal (Scattle)

Anarchy Reigns – Fast Lane (Rushden & Diamonds)

DuckTales: Remastered – Transylvania (Jake Kaufman)

Rokko Chan – Forest Man (ASAGEN)

Vanquish – Kreon’s Deck Battle (Erina Niwa)

Reklámok

Dodgers névjegye

"Description? WHAT FOR?!" Dodgers bejegyzései

5 responses to “Some favourite VG music #20

  • VincentArisato

    Best compilation so far, Boss! 😀

    Damn, I feel like I should’ve listened to DR’s OST more, this track is definitely much different from what Takada composed before, even when you take Killer7 into consideration (*cough* “Blackburn” *cough*). I’m not going to say how much UNATCO theme fits Monobear’s face, by the way 😀 Especially after this cyber menace in DR2 (which is still so boring I can’t read it, by the way).

    The track from Kurohyou was something refreshing too, given that I never was too interested in this game, let alone listened to the OST. I guess PSP disappointed me enough with its entries to MGS and Ace Combat that I kinda lost faith in this console and its games. Still, from what I hear here, Naganuma did a good job, given that he was mostly working on Sega’s skateboarding games, and I can definitely hear this distinctive kind of melody Yakuza songs have 🙂

    Good choice on Hotline Miami song, this game certainly has got an OST worth recommending, even if there are some downs here and there (“Hydrogen” feels like I’m being beaten with a hammer, there’s something annoying about the beat), you can still imagine my face after listening to this OST for the first time, I was expecting something more like “Crockett’s Theme” from Miami Vice mixed with Blood Dragon’s OST, while the whole thing sounds more like WipEout Fusion OST 😀

    Anarchy Reigns… This song is one of the few memorable things about this forgettable game 😀 Actually, it does fit the game perfectly, it’s nice at first, but suddenly gets repetitive like all hell.

    *chuckles* You know… DuckTales must’ve been edgy as a beta when Capcom came up with Remastered idea, given how the entire cover looks – dat hyper realistic spider looks nothing like those Mickey Mouse-faced abominations from the game (not that I’m complaining, the disgusting giant spiders in Lords of Shadow pushed my arachnophobia to the extreme) 😀 Still, as much as everyone praise Transylvania’s theme, my personal favourite is the one playing in African Mines.

    Oh, and another song from Danga… Ah wait, it’s just Vanquish. I do like this track though, not as much as the second theme of Crystal Viper, but this is still much more lively than Unknown’s theme, when it comes to the bosses. Damn, I’ll never see Belt Conveyer Area on any of your compilations, aren’t I? 😀

    • Dodgers

      “Damn, I feel like I should’ve listened to DR’s OST more, this track is definitely much different from what Takada composed before, even when you take Killer7 into consideration”

      I think the entire OST of Danganronpa is different from most of Takada’s previous works, if only because he “just” didn’t had too much occasions to use this jazz-infused-electronica style in the other games he worked on. Which is kind of a shame considering he’s certainly good at it, I wouldn’t mind if he would be sort of like Shoji Meguro and could work in as many musical styles as possible, especially considering there is such a huge between the mentality of let’s say DR, Phoneix Wright 1 and God Hand. On a related note, I can thank the DR anime for using songs from the game and giving me a teaser regarding the OST, searching for songs on YT wasn’t exactly the best option when the comment sections usually aren’t a good place for those who don’t want to get spoiled, even more so when the video itself is a spoiler. On a related note I slowly get the feeling DR2 sucks too.

      “Still, from what I hear here, Naganuma did a good job, given that he was mostly working on Sega’s skateboarding games, and I can definitely hear this distinctive kind of melody Yakuza songs have :)”

      He only worked on a few songs in both Kurohyou games, but yeah, he did a very good job at mixing his usual style with the style used in the first two Yakuza games, which was a good bit more rawer and aggressive than the latter games. One of the YT comments mentioned that this particular song sounds like one of the songs from Sonic Rush, and I do have to agree with that statement, I would even say that his work on the Kurohyou games (under the name “skankfunk”) are the closest thing to Sonic Rush due to how upbeat they are despite the Yakuza style incorporated into them. And Sonic Rush’s OST was the closest thing to the Japanese/EU version of Sonic CD’s OST when it comes to different than usual Sonic OSTs, so it’s a full circle I guess. 😀

      ” Actually, it does fit the game perfectly, it’s nice at first, but suddenly gets repetitive like all hell.”

      I personally wouldn’t hold repetition against the soundtrack/this song due to how it’s one of those occasions where rap is actually done right (=catchy rithm and good lyrics, instead of the “bitches n’ hoes” mentality with the musical finesse of a five years old), but I do agree that the game is repetitive as hell. Or to be precise, the single player mode of it, given the game is essentially Battlefield in beat’em up form: the multiplayer was fun in the demo even with the mechanics being less smoother than in Bayonetta, but the single player mode is lackluster at its finest if you treat it as an actual game, and not just like a glorified tutorial.

      “Still, as much as everyone praise Transylvania’s theme, my personal favourite is the one playing in African Mines.”

      I do like the Remastered version of African Mines given Kaufman’s approach of remixing these songs made this theme more enjoyable than the NES version was, but it didn’t changed my opinion that it’s still the weakest among the main stage themes. Not weakest as in a bad meaning since it’s still good in its own right, but in a way that this song happens to be that one song I just don’t favour as much as the other songs. Good catch on the boxart: I like this boxart much better than the NES version’s art given it’s much more “busy” and tells more about the game, but now I can’t unsee the angle that the new art is actually much closer to usual NES box arts than the original used to be. I mean, NES boxarts were usually much more edgier than the actual game, and this new art does makes it seem like the game is somewhat serious with the way the enemies look like on this art, it’s not like even the red, squid-esque moon creatures are adorable or anything. 😀

      Hotline Miami -> I don’t blame you for disliking Hydrogen, it’s one of the songs made by M_O_O_N (sp?), and their songs are easily the only songs in the game that I would call polarizing when it comes to general reception given they have the most conservative approach overall. The way the bass works and how simple the compositions are in these songs work somewhat well in a game where the term “trippy” has such a focus, but the other songs in the game are just so much better not only when it comes to the songs alone, but the more energetic approach they have by bringing out the ’80s vibe much better than songs like Hydrogen that only focus on the trippiness, no wonder I have almost every song that isn’t Hydrogen and the like on my mp3 player. I do can imagine your surprise given I was just as surprised when I first listened to the OST: the way they were hyped made me a bit pessimist (even more so when it comes to the “insanity” people got from this game), but this game is a very good testament of how the music in indie games can be much better than in a good part of “AAA” games. The Wipeout Fusion comparison is a bit surprising due to how imagining Wipeout with ’80s vibe is a bizarre mental image, but now that you mention it I do get the impression.

      “Damn, I’ll never see Belt Conveyer Area on any of your compilations, aren’t I?”

      No, I’m afraid not. 😀 If anything, I think it’s just it “suffers” from the same thing most songs do in this game: it does the job when you’re playing the game, but it doesn’t pack that punch that makes me want to listen to it outside the gameplay. To be fair none of the songs in Vanquish are as good stand-alone tracks as say some games from the 8/16 bit era, but songs like First Battle, Third Spaceport Lobby, or this particular Kreon theme are close enough to make me listen to them occasionally, altough these kind of songs are still rare in this game, especially compared to the OSTs of Bayonetta, Anarchy Reigns or Metal Gear Rising. As for Unknown’s theme, I like that little drum and bass solo at the beginning but yeah, it’s just too dead of a song that is meant to be a boss theme.

      • VincentArisato

        (I think I’ll have to make an account here too, start writing reviews and stuff… But not today, my nerves are too messed up by tomorrow’s exam)

        [i]searching for songs on YT wasn’t exactly the best option when the comment sections usually aren’t a good place for those who don’t want to get spoiled, even more so when the video itself is a spoiler.[/i]

        Hopefully the identity of a mastermind is still a mystery to you 🙂 I do find it funny how people who weren’t aware of who it is actually guessed it right on SA, just by looking at the characters’ sprites and finding one with totally malicious smile (which is even more hilarious, given the circumstances I can’t write yet) 😀 It’s the same thing as when they pissed Slowbeef off by guessing who the Snatcher is by pure luck. I agree about Takada, too bad we won’t hear him in Killer Is Dead. Until now, his most varied OST is still probably No More Heroes one, he definitely used most music genres in this game. DR is still a worthy succestor to this game in terms of OST, and as unnecessary DR2 is, the OST is even better than in the first game at times. But you;re right, the overall game is… it’s not bad as a game, but it just feels like a very unnecessary addition to DR overall, given that the first game ended on an uncertain, but satisfying note, the kind of where you can guess by yourself what happened to those who survived in the end. The second game suddenly introduces a bland cast of characters of totally uninspired design (forced originality) which feel like rehashes of the previous cast. The only welcomed change is that Byakuya is now fat, now he looks like major from Hellsing 😀 Monomi is a very annoying sidekick of Monobear, and the story is just trying hard to be good, but everything was already closed in the original with the scene where mastermind tells the other the shocking truth (which you’ll never see coming, point for Spike for really well made plot twist). Spike seems to be falling into this trap where you’re doing everything to cash in on your franchise more, but because there’s no need for anything else, so you’re just ruining the overall image.

        [i]And Sonic Rush’s OST was the closest thing to the Japanese/EU version of Sonic CD’s OST when it comes to different than usual Sonic OSTs, so it’s a full circle I guess.[/i]

        Yeah, Rush has got a really solid songs, despite not being the best Sonic game. I did like Sonic Riders music too, though (“High Flying Groove” especially). Now that I think of it, I can now understand why I’ve had so strong feeling of deja vu while listening to “Let It Go” from Ollie King, because Naganuma also made the OST to Air Gear which has a quite similar kind of music. I’d even say that the music in this anime was much better than the anime itself 😀

        [i]the multiplayer was fun in the demo even with the mechanics being less smoother than in Bayonetta, but the single player mode is lackluster at its finest if you treat it as an actual game, and not just like a glorified tutorial.[/i]

        Good thing Borderlands wasn’t like this 😀 Speaking of Platinum, are you going to try Wonderful 101 once it’ll come out? Good news, DSP announced he’s not going to touch it, because it’s too childish to him 😀 I’m afraid that once he’ll realize that he needs more cash, he’ll break the vow like he did with MGS1 and ruin this game as well.

        [i]I mean, NES boxarts were usually much more edgier than the actual game, and this new art does makes it seem like the game is somewhat serious with the way the enemies look like on this art, it’s not like even the red, squid-esque moon creatures are adorable or anything. :D[/i]

        Haha, makes you wonder if these games would’ve been really that edgy if only the graphics would allow that 😀 I’d still love to play as angry Scrooge, his smile is almost inappropiate during some scenes. When it comes to box arts, MegaMan 9 and 10 come to my mind, Capcom actually did a good job at designing those, they totally fit the childish story of futuristic Pinocchio, by the way 😀 [url=http://www.emuparadise.me/PSX/Covers/Bust-a-Move%202%20-%20Arcade%20Edition%20%5BU%5D%20%5BSLUS-00233%5D-front.jpg]Could’ve been worse, though[/url], now that’s a cover that can give your child nightmares for a lifetime! 😀 I mean, it looks worse than Danganronpa torture, and it’s even more hilarious given how upbeat the actual game is.

        Hotline Miami -> Glad to see I’m not alone on the M O O N’s case, I’d say that I like everything on the OST that starts from “Hotline” on the track list, everything from this track to the end is really good. The atmosphere of “Flatline” is exactly the kind of ambient music I like. “Silver Lights” reminds me of Italian band called Ufomammut and their Psychedelic Rock songs that sound awfully similar to this track. I don’t know absolutely anything about this game, about the characters, story, anything. The way how the music sounds does make me want to buy it next week out of curiosity, especially after you’ve mentioned the hallucinations on Backloggery 😀 WipEout Fusion was the first game of the franchise that stopped relying on fast, catchy tunes from the first games, and I didn’t like that. The songs were much slower, almost darker, rather unfitting the racing game it was. Sony fixed that in Pure and Pulse, but the newest game ruined everything with introducing Skrillex and the like, so you can imagine how bad that particular OST is. I’d still say that my favourite WipEout OST is the one from 2097. Fusion’s music does sound similar to the first half of the songs from Hotline Miami OST, but HM still has much, much better sounds up its sleeve.

        [i]To be fair none of the songs in Vanquish are as good stand-alone tracks as say some games from the 8/16 bit era[/i]

        Yeah, even if I do like to listen to themes that play during Tutorial and Mission Select screen quite often 😀 Then again, I also like “Hammerhead” from Rising’s OST, so I guess I have asof spot for catchy, minimalistic songs 😀 It’s still funny how I was playing Vanquish while listening to DR’s OST and it felt like the game and its music are sold separately, because some tracks really fit Vanquish more, but that’s mostly because Takada loved to reuse the same melody during the boss fights and just add few new samples. Granted, the same thing happens in DR (“Discussion -Break-” and its updated version, “Discussion -Hope VS Despair-“, which sounds even more Vanquish-esque), but to a much smaller extent.

  • Dodgers

    “Hopefully the identity of a mastermind is still a mystery to you.”

    Yeah, I’m still unaware who the mastermind is since the anime doesn’t really throw around clues about it, and there are of course no sprite or artwork that would give away things so I’m in a good position for the time being. With that said, I have a feeling Byakuya has to do something with the mastermind if he ended up surviving DR1, unless DR2 is some bizarro world version of the franchise where DR1 didn’t happen, I mean DR isn’t exactly the franchise where Shenron can revive dead people (or the quality of the first game, apparently). That Snatcher “incident” was funny though, the writing is actually good enough to not give away things sooner than necessary so it was very amusing how Diabetus ended up guessing most things right via sheer accident. 😀

    ” I’d even say that the music in this anime was much better than the anime itself”

    I only saw five or so episodes from that series, but I do agree that the music was the best thing in the entire series, or to be precise, the only good thing in it. The series itself was a very bland shounen for a concept that could’ve been the closest thing to a Jet Set Radio anime, but the music itself made up for this quite a lot: not only because Naganuma’s style carried over flawlessly and created the atmosphere the story failed to do, but because it was rather radical from what anime OSTs usually do when it comes to choice of genres (just like how Panty and Stocking is radical in this regard). Sonic Riders is kind of a tricky situation given it isn’t nearly as ambitious in its choice of genre and its usage compared to what Sonic CD and Sonic Rush did, but I’d say it did its job even if Naganuma would’ve been a much better choice for this game.

    “Speaking of Platinum, are you going to try Wonderful 101 once it’ll come out?”

    Yeah, I’d like to try it out after seeing ChipCheezum’s video about the demo, but I’m not convienced enough yet to buy it day one if I would have a Wii U. Bayonetta 2 is a different case of a Platinum Games title given the first game is enough indication to know what should be expected from the gameplay (and I expect a lot, or at least the same quality with a better story this time around), but Wonderful 101 is the kind of game that seems interesting in the videos, but a few rounds with the demo is necessary to judge if the gameplay clicks with me enough in the practice to give money for it. I can assure you though that DSP will make a playtrough in this game sooner or later, he saying the game is childish doesn’t mean much when he’s LPing Metal Gear games despite waging war against Kojima in every single one of them, and turns into a horny 12 years old kid everytime a female of any kind shows up on screen (even pixelated Meryl from MGS1…). His DuckTales: Remastered and Metal Gear Rising LPs makes me sad you can’t punch someone trough TCP/IP, and I will regret this once more if his Wonderful 101 LP won’t gonna be wonderful. (*ba-dum-tish*)

    Bust a move -> What the bloody hell is this cover art? O_o The Megaman cover arts are at least so bad they’re actually funny in their own way while at least it resembled to the game to *some* degree, but BaM’s cover art is like they were so fixated on that slogan they wanted to stick to it no matter what. Scrooge’s constant smileing is kind of unfitting too, but at least it’s still close to his character enough to use it for some of the sprites, altough this isn’t even a big deal when the characters mouth doesn’t move when they talk, even if the sprites themselves are well-made enough to make up for this to some extend

    “Then again, I also like “Hammerhead” from Rising’s OST, so I guess I have asof spot for catchy, minimalistic songs”

    Funny you mention Hammerhead, because I actually like that song enough to put the non-looped version on my mp3 player. 🙂 Technically it isn’t that much more complex than most songs from Vanquish, but it gives a much more distinct impression given the way it sounds is very similar to a helicopter does, which is very fitting considering the mini-boss here is a helicopter drone (Hammerhead), plus the first 40 seconds or so fits well with the situation where Raiden runs away from two Hammerheads whilst the bridge is collapsing under his feet. The thing it puts this song over songs from Vanquish is that Hammerhead is actually written to describe the situation in audio form, while most of Vanquish’s songs are just “there” in the background, and relatively few of them puts decent enough effort into describing AND being distinct.

    • vincentarisato

      unless DR2 is some bizarro world version of the franchise where DR1 didn’t happen, I mean DR isn’t exactly the franchise where Shenron can revive dead people (or the quality of the first game, apparently).

      *wheezing laughter* I’d love it to be true, if DR2 would take place in a bizarro reality, we could stop considering it canon, and only DR Zero would remain as a single stain. But the overall game does feel forced and you can feel how little ideas Spike had. The setting is a tropical island out of nowhere (they just faint while being at school and wake up there), which, unless it’s some cleverly hidden area inside, is already against the logic of the outside world in DR. Shenron hasn’t resurrected the mastermind, but no worries, somehow this person became a Patriot reject as an evil AI who can still operate Monobear and seems to have greater gadgets than s/he had while being alive. I’m still waiting for some retarded reveal of the mastermind AI operating out of some Monosatellite in space and the game having its finale in style of the older Capcom RE games – stopping the orbital laser of randomness from firing 😀 It’s just a mess. At least we get a character named Gundam, that’s kinda cool, right? …who am I kidding… I still can’t wait to read about your reaction once the masterind will decide to resurface 😀

      but I do agree that the music was the best thing in the entire series, or to be precise, the only good thing in it.

      I’d also add Obama from the manga version, that was actually hilarious 😀 But yeah, the anime is your typical sports title with serious plot, annoying crow censorship and fagservice everywhere. Jet Set Radio would;ve been more like Redline, I believe, being much more toned down in terms of fagservice and relying more on hip-hop themed art. Actually, Jet Set Radio anime by Madhouse would’ve been great, I’d finally hear more from Beat than his glorious “yeah! :3” *laughs*

      His DuckTales: Remastered and Metal Gear Rising LPs makes me sad you can’t punch someone trough TCP/IP, and I will regret this once more if his Wonderful 101 LP won’t gonna be wonderful. (*ba-dum-tish*)

      Heh, I actualy need to resume watching his MGR LP just to see how much he’s going to get his ass kicked by Mastiffs 😀 The hot pixels matter is what bothers me the most if he’s going to try DR out – have you seen those 8-bit character sprites? He’d come 47 times just because of those! /sarcasm At least he’s finished DuckTales now, one game free, so many left to enslave :< No worries though – Kojima World Order gets stronger every day 😀 Speaking of MGR, ChipCheezum's LP actually makes me want to finally buy the game, this is how you make an LP, you actually encourage people to try the game out by themselves 🙂 I'm still getting Hotline Miami first though, the price is ridiculously low on PSN (31 PLN, while DuckTales costs 59), too bad that the sequel will come out on PS4 only, especially given that they already announced that the second game will close the series. I do praise them for that – they know when to end, at least.

      but at least it’s still close to his character enough to use it for some of the sprites, altough this isn’t even a big deal when the characters mouth doesn’t move when they talk, even if the sprites themselves are well-made enough to make up for this to some extend

      It’s still less glaring than in Sengoku Basara 3, where only main characters have lip movement, while mooks and boss-only characters don’t have lip movement at all, which is really glaring, especially since we’re talking of a game with 3D graphics. In DuckTales, at least I can treat it like those older PSX RPGs, which had voice acting, but no lip movement from obvious reasons. 🙂

      plus the first 40 seconds or so fits well with the situation where Raiden runs away from two Hammerheads whilst the bridge is collapsing under his feet.

      Yeah, let alone that it perfectly fits the opponent as well. This track does feel incomplete without Ironicus being amazed in the foreground, though 😀 Now that I think about it, they used this track at the very end of Jack the Ripper trailer, now I know why I was giggling so much when I’ve heard this song during the Hammerhead fight 😀 Dear Platinum, if you’re going to make a sequel, bring Jack back.

Vélemény, hozzászólás?

